Review of The Forgotten Ones

Forgotten Ones Review Tour

THE FORGOTTEN ONE’S BLOG TOUR:

REVIEW:

I am generally not a fan of first person stories- I don’t mind if there is a portion of first person in a story, such as for when it is used for a flashback, but when it remains for the entire story I find it more far difficult to identify with the main characters.

However, I can happily say that I had no such issue with The Forgotten Ones. Almost from the first page I was intrigued and pulled into Allison’s story, which starts out as a somewhat sad, awkward, but interesting tale, and blossoms into something…well, magical.

The story flows very well, and I was sorry to see it end, especially when it left me wanting more, but knowing that the story would be continued in the next book, I can manage to be patient. You can read for yourself and witness the energy and thought and imagination that the author put into the telling of the story, and that for me is just as exciting.

I don’t want to give any spoilers, I hate it when people do that to me, but perhaps a few hints to get you interested? I liked how the author took a very real issue, like a mother having Schizophrenia and turned it into something quite unique, and in this reader’s opinion, perhaps not so hard to believe.

There are some seriously yummy descriptions of certain characters that will wet any girl’s appetite, and perhaps one or two boys as well, but not only is their beauty and magnificence, there is darkness where you least expect it; and it is all explained wonderfully well.

I enjoyed all the characters, even the few that you are not sure where their alliances lie, with the exception of one. You’ll just have to read the book to see which one that is. 😉 The concept was well conceived, and I was much like Allison, in that I found myself being pulled into a world I wanted to believe in, but was just a tad wary of actually doing so. In the end, I believed, as Allison does, and in the end, I believe you will too!

One last thing, there is nothing creepier than a crow staring at or following you and this happens quiet often in the book. *shiver* Pick up your copy of The Forgotten Ones now to see why.

Haven’t quite made up your mind and would like to read more reviews? Check out the below sites for the remainder of The Forgotten One’s Blog Tour

August 13th

Kassie’s Thoughts

The Two Brains of Book Reviewers

August 14th

Star Shadow Blog

Just Trying to Let it Be

BookWormInBarrie

August 15th

Notebook of Books

Brooke Blogs

Delphina Reads Too Much

Tugcenin Kitapligi

August 16th

Owl Always Be Reading

Books Forget Me Knot

Tanya’s Book Nook

Overflowing Bookshelves

Blurb:
O’Malley’s plan is to go to grad school so she can get a good job and take care of her schizophrenic mother. She has carefully closed herself off from everything else, including a relationship with Ethan, who she’s been in love with for as long as she can remember. What is definitely not part of the plan is the return of her long-lost father, who claims he can bring Allison’s mother back from the dark place her mind has gone. Allison doesn’t trust her father, so why would she believe his stories about a long forgotten Irish people, the Tuatha de Danaan? But truths have a way of revealing themselves. Secrets will eventually surface. And Allison must learn to set aside her plan and work with her father if there is even a small chance it could restore her mother’s sanity.

Leave a comment

August 13, 2013 · 11:11 am

Leave a Reply

